Mud City


Categories: , Tag:


About The Author

Deborah Ellis is a Canadian fiction-writer and activist. Her themes are often concerned with the sufferings of persecuted children in the Third World. Born in Cochrane Ontario, Ellis and her family moved several times during her childhood due to her parents’ work. Ellis started writing when she was 11 or 12 years old.
She travelled to Pakistan in 1997 to interview refugees at an Afghan refugee camp. From these interviews, she wrote The Breadwinner series, which includes The Breadwinner (2001), a book about a girl named Parvana, Parvana’s Journey (2002), its sequel, Mud City (2003), about Shauzia, Parvana’s best friend, and My Name is Parvana (2011), the final book in the series. While The Breadwinner was inspired by an interview with a mother and a girl who disguised herself as a boy in a refugee camp, the subsequent books in the series were more imaginative explorations of how children would survive.

In 1999, her novel Looking for X was published. It follows a young girl in her day-to-day life in a poor area of Toronto and it received the Governor General’s Award for English-language children’s literature in 2000.


Additional information


Deborah Ellis

Book Formats




Ideal age

9 Years and up